Distributed and Private Machine Learning (DPML)

ICLR Workshop, May 07, 2021


The focus of this workshop is to bring together researchers from industry and academia that focus on both distributed and private machine learning. These topics are of increasingly large commercial and policy interest. It is therefore important to build a community for this research area, which collaborating researchers that share insights, code, data, benchmarks, training pipelines, etc and together aim to advance distributed and private machine learning.The scope of this workshop includes, but is not limited to:

  • Special track: privacy of ML and data in COVID-19 era
  • Distributed Machine Learning
  • Federated Learning and Split Learning
  • Differential Privacy in Deep Learning
  • Privacy and security attacks (Model Inversion, Membership Inference etc.)
  • Practical Considerations for Distributed Learning (Communication Efficiency, Compression)
  • Model and data fingerprinting/watermarking methods
  • Non i.i.d, sequential and online distributed learning
  • Differential privacy and other statistical notions of privacy: theory, applications, and implementations
  • Secure multi-party computation (Secure MPC) methods for ML
  • Homomorphic encryption for ML
  • Hardware-based techniques to privacy-preserving ML
  • Trade-offs between privacy and utility
  • Correspondence between different notions of privacy
  • Policy and Compliance for Data Privacy
  • Privacy applications in the real world ( including but not limited to Autonomous Systems, Social Networks)
  • Privacy, Fairness, Accountability and Transparency (F.A.T) in Machine Learning
  • Accessibility: We are committed to making this workshop accessible to everybody. Please notify the organizers in advance of the workshop if you require any accommodations or if there is anything we can do to make this workshop more accessible to you.

    Contact: Please email fatemeh@ucsd.edu for more information.

    Code of Conduct

    Everyone who participates in this workshop is required to conform to the ICLR Code of Conduct.

    Call for Papers

    The workshop will include contributed papers. All accepted papers will be allocated either a virtual poster presentation, or a virtual talk slot. There are no proceedings (and concurrent/dual submissions are allowed), but will optionally link the papers and talk recordings on the workshop website.

    The papers should have up to 4 pages (excluding references, acknowledgements, or appendices), and be formatted using the ICLR submission template. Papers should be anonymized. Submission deadline is extended to end of the day, March 1st AOE, 2021 and you can submit your work using this link.

    We invite submissions in three tracks:

    Call for Reviewers

    If you are interested in becoming a reviewer for our workshop, please apply using this link.

    Invited Speakers

    David Evans (University of Virginia)

    Lalitha Sankar (Associate Prof. ASU, Confirmed)

    Gauri Joshi (Carnegie Mellon University)

    Graham Cormode (University of Warwick)


    Adam Smith (Boston University)

    Ramesh Raskar (MIT)

    Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer (Harvard)

    Gautam Kamath (University of Waterloo)

    Reza Shokri (NUS)

    Hamed Haddadi (Imperial College London)

    Vivek Sharma (MIT, Harvard, KIT)

    Fatemehsadat Mireshghallah (PhD Student, UCSD)

    Praneeth Vepakomma (PhD Student, MIT)

    Ayush Chopra (PhD Student, MIT)

    Abhishek Singh (PhD Student, MIT)

    PC Members

    Mi Zhang (Michigan State University)

    Gauri Joshi (CMU)

    Clément Canonne (University of Sydney)

    Peter Kairouz (Google)

    Ling Liu (GaTech)

    Lin Zhong (Yale)

    Arya Mazumdar (UMass Amherst)

    Konstantinos Chatzikokolakis (University of Athens)

    Vishnu Boddeti (Michigan State University)

    Mehdi Bennis (University of Oulu)

    Waheed Bajwa (Rutgers University)

    Fragkiskos Koufogiannis (Raytheon)

    Supriyo Chakraborty (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)

    Lei Yu (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

    Keke Chen (Marquette University)

    Yuzhe Tang (Syracuse University )

    Yuan Hong (Illinois Institute of Technology)

    Ananda Theertha Suresh (Google)

    Jalaj Upadhyay (Apple)

    Antti Koskela (University of Helsinki)

    Eugene Bagdasaryan (PhD Student, Cornell)

    Sameer Wagh (Post-doc researcher, UC Berkeley)

    Matthew Jagielski (Northeastern University)

    Congzheng Song (Cornell)

    Abdullatif Mohammed Albaseer (Hamad Bin Khalifa University)

    Krystal A Maughan (University of Vermont)

    Adam Hall (Edinburgh Napier University/ OpenMined)

    Théo Ryffel (ENS - INRIA - CNRS)

    Akanksha Atrey (U Mass)

    Jinyuan Jia (Duke University)

    Ranya Aloufi (Imperial College London)

    Kritika Prakash (IIIT Hyderabad/ OpenMined)

    Gharib Gharibi (TripleBlind/ University of Missouri)

    Abinav Ravi Venkatakrishnan (Deepc gmbh/ OpenMined)

    Mohammadkazem Taram (UCSD)

    Benjamin Zhao (UNSW)

    Jianfeng Chi (University of Virginia)

    Ali Shahin Shamsabadi (The Vector Institute/Inria)

    Fan Mo (Imperial College London)

    Guanhong Tao (Purdue University)

    Mohammad Malekzadeh (Imperial College London)

    Mohammad Naseri (University College London)

    Yongjun Zhao (Nanyang Technological University)

    Stefanos Laskaridis (Samsung AI Center)

    Xuechen Li (Stanford University)

    Roozbeh Yousefzadeh (Yale University)

    Sahib Singh (Ford R&D/OpenMined)

    Hanieh Hashemi (University of Southern California)

    Saeedeh Parsaeefard (University of Toronto)

    Stylianos Venieris (Samsung AI)

    Gautham Krishna Gudur (Ericsson R&D)

    Kleomenis Katevas (Telefonica)

    Thomas Chen (The Academy for Mathematics, Science, and Engineering)

    Wenqi Wie (Georgia Tech)

    Muhammad Habib ur Rehman (KCL)

    Vandy Tombs (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

    Stacey Truex (Georgia Tech)

    Schedule (PST)

    09:00 Introduction and Opening Remarks
    09:10 Invited Talk 1
    09:40 Invited Talk 2
    10:10 Poster Session and Coffee Break
    11:10 Contributed Talk 1
    11:20 Contributed Talk 2
    11:30 Contributed Talk 3
    11:40 Contributed Talk 4
    11:50 Coffee Break
    12:15 Invited Talk 3
    12:45 Invited Talk 4
    13:15 Concluding Remarks and Awards
    13:30 End